CareCredit puts the Texas average for a root canal at $965 (September 2026), without naming the tooth. Texas offices that publish fees charge $485 to $1,200 for a front tooth and $630 to $1,600 for a back tooth, before the crown, which is billed separately. Texas offices list tooth-colored fillings at $87 to $362, and no Texas page we found prices silver amalgam separately. Dental plans usually class fillings as basic care.
- Texas average root canal
- $965CareCredit, September 2026
- Texas office molar fees
- $950 to $1,600three Texas offices that price molars
- Root canal plus crown
- $1,798Lake Worth office, August 2026
- Basic-care coinsurance
- 80%Delta Dental
Root canal fees Texas offices publish
The offices’ own stated fees, per tooth, without the crown.
| Office | City | Front | Premolar | Molar | Page date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega Dental Specialists (endodontists) | Houston | $1,200 | $1,400 | $1,600 | September 2026 |
| Best Dental | Richmond | $750 | $850 | $950 | none |
| Madison Square Dental | Arlington | $899 to $1,000 | $900 to $1,100 | $1,000 to $1,500 | June 2026 |
| Sun Ridge Smiles | El Paso | $750 to $900 | $900 to $1,400 (back tooth) | $900 to $1,400 (back tooth) | none |
| Covenant Dental | Fort Worth | $485 to $1,072 | $630 to $1,316 (back tooth) | $630 to $1,316 (back tooth) | none |
| Northwest Family Dental | Lake Worth | $899 any tooth | $899 | $899 | August 2026 |
| Coit Dental | Frisco | $700 to $1,100 by tooth | March 2026 | ||
| Vida Dental | Austin | from $800, tooth not stated | none | ||
| Somos Dental | Dallas | from $599, in-house plan members | none |
Somos Dental’s prices apply only to members of its in-house plan. Omega charges $1,400 to $1,800 to retreat a failed root canal, from $1,200 for the crown and $438 for a post and core when needed. Northwest Family Dental adds its $899 crown to reach $1,798.
Ranges Texas practice pages restate
Practice pages describing a city or Texas market range; these are not their own fees.
| Source | Front | Premolar | Molar | With crown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omega’s Houston range, September 2026 | $900 to $1,400 | $1,000 to $1,600 | $1,200 to $2,000 | |
| Houston practice page, 2026 | $700 to $1,200 | $800 to $1,400 | $1,000 to $1,800 | |
| Houston practice page, 2026 | $700 to $900 | $800 to $1,100 | $1,000 to $1,500 | $1,500 to $3,700 |
| Austin practice page citing CareCredit | $620 to $1,100 | $890 to $1,500 | $2,000 to $3,200, molar | |
| McAllen price list | $700 to $1,200 | $1,000 to $1,800 |
The lowest “Texas” figures we found, $425 to $860 by tooth, are in a table from Gentle Dental of New England, a chain with no Texas offices that gives no source, so we leave them out.
National anchors
| Source | Front | Premolar | Molar | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delta Dental | $1,200 | $1,300 | $1,500 | Out of network, July 2026 |
| Humana | $900 | $1,017 | $1,175 | Orlando pricing tool |
| Coast Dental | $886 | $999 | $1,219 | Chain fee schedule, titled 2025 |
| CareCredit cost list | $984 | $984 | $1,337 | Research 2023 to 2024 |
| CareCredit root canal guide | $905 | $1,023 | $1,220 | Averages, September 2026 |
| VA charge table | $1,253 | $1,480 | $1,814 | Billed to insurers, 2026 |
CareCredit disagrees with itself: its cost list gives front teeth and premolars the same $984, while its September 2026 guide gives separate averages and a $978 national average. Coast Dental, a chain with Texas offices, footnotes its schedule “Fees effective 01/01/19”. VA figures are what VA bills insurers before a ZIP-code adjustment, not patient prices.
Fillings: composite and amalgam
Texas office fees, composite or material not stated:
- Best Dental, Richmond: $125 one surface, $150 two, $175 three or more.
- Covenant Dental, Fort Worth: $87 to $322 front, $92 to $362 back.
- Sun Ridge Smiles, El Paso: $80 to $200, material not stated.
- Somos Dental, Dallas: from $149 for members of its in-house plan.
Restated ranges run $150 to $350 per surface in Houston (July 2026) and $175 to $350 per tooth in Dallas (June 2026). No Texas page we found prices amalgam on its own, so those figures are national: Delta Dental $110 to $455 by surfaces (2024 data) and CareCredit $139. Delta’s composite range is $145 to $530, and CareCredit’s composite average $226.
Extractions, for context
Texas office fees for a simple extraction run $100 to $250 (Sun Ridge Smiles, Northwest Family Dental, Somos Dental members, Best Dental), with Covenant Dental at $142 to $373. Surgical extractions run $150 to $450 (Sun Ridge, Best Dental, Red Bud Dental in Round Rock). Texas A&M’s urgent care clinic in Dallas charges $131 for the exam, x-ray and first extraction, wisdom teeth excluded. CareCredit’s national averages are $177 simple and $363 surgical.
What dental insurance pays
- Fillings are basic care. Delta Dental’s 100-80-50 plan pays “80% of basic procedures such as fillings, root canals and tooth extractions.”
- Root canals vary. Delta puts them in that basic tier, but KFF found that in 2021 the most common Medicare Advantage coinsurance for “more extensive dental services, such as fillings, extractions, and root canals” was 50%. The crown afterward is major care at 50% for Delta and Humana; see crown and bridge cost in Texas.
- Waiting periods. Cigna says a wait of up to six months is possible before care beyond preventive exams. Aetna waives basic and major waits with continuous coverage within 90 days of enrolling.
- Medicare and Medicaid. Original Medicare does not cover fillings or extractions in most cases. Texas Medicaid has no general dental benefit for adults 21 and older outside narrow exceptions (Texas Medicaid and dental care); most Texans 20 and younger on Medicaid or CHIP have a dental plan.
In MetLife’s Philadelphia example, a root canal with a $1,345 list price leaves an insured member $132.40 to pay, and a $196 filling $16.40.
Free and lower-fee care in Texas
- Texas Mission of Mercy. The Texas Dental Association Smiles Foundation runs free walk-up clinics offering “extractions, fillings, and cleanings”, first come, first served. Its 100th clinic was held at Bert Ogden Arena in Edinburg on October 2 and 3, 2026 (ages 8 and over, no ID or paperwork), and clinics in Brazos, Lumberton and Waco are scheduled for 2027; the program’s own site lists the next dates.
- Dental schools. UT Health San Antonio’s student clinic costs “about 60 percent less than private practice care”, and UTHealth Houston says most student-clinic fees are under $200. See Texas dental schools.
- Health centers. FQHCs use a sliding fee scale and “cannot deny services due to an inability to pay.” Harris Health offers fillings and extractions to established adult patients on its financial assistance plan.
More routes, including financing terms, are on ways to pay less in Texas.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a root canal cost in Texas?
CareCredit’s Texas average is $965. Texas office fees run $485 to $1,200 for a front tooth and $630 to $1,600 for a back tooth, without the crown.
How much is a root canal and crown together?
One Lake Worth office quotes $1,798 for a back tooth; Houston and Austin practice pages restate $1,500 to $3,700.
Are silver fillings cheaper than tooth-colored ones?
In national figures, yes: CareCredit averages $139 for amalgam and $226 for composite. No Texas page we found lists amalgam separately.
Does insurance cover root canals?
Usually in part. Delta Dental’s common plan pays 80% as basic care, Medicare Advantage most often leaves you 50%, and the crown is usually major care.
Where can I get a free filling or extraction in Texas?
Texas Mission of Mercy clinics offer free extractions, fillings and cleanings on a walk-up basis; FQHCs charge on a sliding scale.
Sources
- CareCredit: root canal guide (September 2026), procedure cost list
- Delta Dental: root canal costs (July 2026), filling costs, what dental insurance covers
- Humana, costs of common dental procedures, Extend 2500; MetLife, is dental insurance worth it (April 2026); Cigna, how dental insurance works; Aetna individual dental
- VA Reasonable Charges v5.26, Table I (2026); Medicare.gov, dental services; KFF, Medicare and dental coverage (2021); Texas DSHS, Find a Dentist
- Texas Mission of Mercy; FAQ; Edinburg clinic; Texas Dental Association, 100th clinic
- UT Health San Antonio student clinic; UTHealth Houston student clinics; Texas A&M patient FAQ
- Texas DSHS, Federally Qualified Health Centers; Harris Health dental program
- Chains, cited without links: Coast Dental, SmilePlus fee schedule; Somos Dental, Dallas; Gentle Dental of New England, root canal article
- Texas practices, cited without links: Omega Dental Specialists, Houston (September 2026); Best Dental, Richmond; Madison Square Dental, Arlington (June 2026); Sun Ridge Smiles, El Paso; Covenant Dental, Fort Worth; Northwest Family Dental, Lake Worth (August 2026); Coit Dental, Frisco (March 2026); Vida Dental, Austin; Hermann Park Smiles, Houston; Naba Dental, Houston; 3D Dental, Austin; Ethos Modern Dental, McAllen; Spring Valley Dental, Dallas (June 2026); Dental Care and Implants, Houston (July 2026); Red Bud Dental, Round Rock (April 2026)
Figures retrieved October 2, 2026. Practice fees are the offices’ own published prices on the dates shown, and restated ranges are not any office’s fee; a written quote after an exam is the only firm price. Tooth Restoration TX is a publication, not a practice.


